• Education Bureau Registration Number:575690, 597600
Course Centre Day Date Time Hours Trainer Status Enrollment
ITIL® Intermediate: Service Transition (ST) Wanchai N/A To be confirmed 1:00 – 8:00pm 21 David Ho Planning

ITIL® Intermediate: ST

Great Learning is an ITIL® Accredited Training Organisation.

Course Duration: 21 hours, 3 sessions of 7 hours each

Course Fee: HK$ 8,200 (includes exam fee HK$ 3,600)

Language of delivery: Cantonese with English terms

Service Lifecycle modules are most relevant to those who have, or are looking for, a management or team leader role that requires management of different areas or work across different teams.

All the modules within the Service Lifecycle category are suitable for those intending to focus on the process and practice elements used, and the management capabilities needed to deliver quality Service Management practices.

The Service Transition (ST) module is one of the certifications within the ITIL® Service Lifecycle work stream. This module focuses on the process and practice elements and management techniques required to build, test and implement products and services. It also demonstrates how service transition can apply to other stages of the IT Service lifecycle and can underpin decisions during the Strategy and Operations phases.

The ST module will teach you how to plan and manage the move into initial operation for the new or revised resources created during the Service Strategy and Service Design stages of the ITIL Service Lifecycle. In addition to providing guidance on techniques for organizing and managing the transition, the certification also covers management of technology considerations and challenges and risks.

The course covers management and control of activities and techniques that are documented in the ITIL Service Transition publication, but it does not provide the full detail of each supporting process. More information about these processes can be found in the Release, Control and Validation module from the Service Capability workstream.

The techniques taught in the ST module can help organizations and individuals better understand and manage changes to IT services in line with users’ expectations and business strategy. Service transition is vital for flexibly managing changes and delivering improvement to services provided by organizations or programmes of work.

The ST module is worth three credits towards the minimum of 17 required to progress to the Managing Across the Lifecycle module, which is the final step before the ITIL Expert Level.

End learners who achieve 17 credits from the current ITIL v3 credit system will be able to take the ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) transition module in order to move to the new scheme without needing to take the MALC exam. (ITIL MP released during the second half of 2019).

Candidates can expect to gain competencies in the following upon successful completion of the education and examination components related to this certification:

  • Introduction to Service Transition
  • Service Transition Principles
  • Management and control of all Service Transition activities
  • Service Transition Related activities around communications, commitment and organizational change
  • Organizing Service Transition
  • Control and coordination of Service Transition technology related activities
  • Analysis, justification and selection of the implementation approaches, challenges, critical success factors and risks

Learning Unit ST01: Introduction to Service Transition

  • The Flow of Service Transition and where the “Service Transition evaluation points occurs in the flow
  • Ways that Service Transition adds value to the business
  • The inputs to and outputs from Service transition as it interfaces with the other service lifecycle phases
  • The fundamental aspects of Service Transition and be able to define them


Learning Unit ST02: Service Transition Principles

  • The utility of a service as defined in terms of the business outcomes that customers expect
  • How services provide value by increasing the performance of customer assets while removing risks
  • Service Transition best practices in relation to stakeholder relationships and how these best practices can be applied
  • How to ensure the quality of a new or changed service


Learning Unit ST03: Service Transition Processes

  • How to integrate Service Transition with the processes that interact with Service Transition
  • The flow of Service Transition as it relates to the transition planning, transition support, service validation and testing as well as evaluation.


Learning Unit ST04: Service Transition related activities

  • How to address and manage Communication aspects/strategy of Service Transition
  • How to address organizational change from planning through to communication and implementation, and the interactions with the other lifecycle stages
  • How to use all the methods, practices and techniques available to manage change
  • Stakeholder management and how to achieve this within an existing organization


Learning Unit ST05: Organizing for Service Transition

  • Service Transition roles and responsibilities, where and how they are used as well as how a
  • Service Transition organization would be structured to use these roles
  • The interfaces that exist between Service Transition and other organizational units (including third parties) and the “handover points”
  • Why Service Transition needs Service Design and Service Operation, what it uses from them and how


Learning Unit ST06: Consideration of Technology

  • Technology requirements that supports Service Transition, where and how these would be used
  • Types of Knowledge Management, Service Asset and Configuration Management and workflow tools that can be used to support Service Transition


Learning Unit ST07: Implementation and improvement of Service Transition

  • The stages for introducing Service Transition into an organization
  • The design, creation, implementation and use of Critical Success Factors and Key Performance Indicators as ways to measure and improve Service Transition
  • Challenges, risks and prerequisites for success in Service Transition

The main target group for the ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Service Strategy Certificate includes, but is not restricted to CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff, team leaders, designers, architects, planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers, IT security managers, service test managers and ITSM trainers.

Number of Questions: 8 Questions

Exam Duration: 120 minutes

Exam Format: Multiple choice, scenario-based, gradient scored questions. Closed book

Exam Location: Great Learning Education Centre

Passing Mark: 28/40 or 70%

Accreditation course material and sample questions

  • Great Learning is an ITIL® Accredited Training Organisation, students can further study to be an ITIL Expert in our centre.
  • We are IT soft skill specialists, highly experienced in delivering complicated and conceptual knowledge in an effective way.

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
The Swirl logo™ is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.